nanaxjames.blogg.se

Berkman klein center fellows
Berkman klein center fellows









A blog post I wrote from a talk by Andrés Monroy Hernández has inspired a long collaboration with Andrés and the first inklings of my PhD topic. My presentation received amazingly helpful feedback and connections. In my two years as a Master’s student at the Media Lab, the inspiration and genuine encouragement of people at Berkman influenced major parts of my research. Molly also encouraged me to present my work-in-progress to the Cyberscholars working group, which I eventually came to co-facilitate. Over the last two years, Molly and my advisor Ethan encouraged me to visit Berkman events and blog them, which has been a fantastic learning experience. I haven’t fully overcome my shyness about chats with people who get lots of media attention, but I am learning to value what I bring to the conversation as a maker & researcher. When I first arrived in Boston in 2011, I was starstruck and envious to learn that my colleague Molly Sauter had been Jonathan Zittrain’s research assistant. You should also know that is not official advice, and I’m not on the selection committee. This post tells my story, explains what I’m doing now, and answers questions you might have about being a Berkman Fellow. As a PhD student at the MIT Media Lab, I’m deeply enjoying the opportunity. I’m a Berkman Fellow for the 2013-2014 academic year. Here, I try to explain why makers, computational social scientists, and computer scientists should apply, even if you haven’t finished your PhD. The official link has helpful information about qualifications, funding, and more. If you haven’t clicked on that link and started filling out the application, this blog post is for you. Please feel most welcome to share this info with others who you think might have interest.You should apply to be a Berkman Fellow next year, especially if you’re a designer, computer scientist, or researcher of technology.

#Berkman klein center fellows full#

Eastern Time.Ĭheck out our full call, which has more information about our community activities and the application process. This funding is intended to support people from communities who are underrepresented in fields related to Internet and society, who will contribute to the diversity of the Berkman Klein Center’s research and activities, and who have financial need.Īpplications will be accepted until Wednesday Januat 11:59 p.m. To make fellowships a possibility for as wide a range of applicants as possible, in the 2018-2019 academic year we will award a small number of stipends to incoming fellows. We encourage applications from scholars, practitioners, innovators, engineers, artists, and others committed to understanding and advancing the public interest who come from - and have interest in - countries industrialized or developing, with ideas, projects, or activities in all phases on a spectrum from incubation to reflection. We invite applications from people working on a broad range of opportunities and challenges related to Internet and society, which may overlap with ongoing work at the Center and may expose our community to new opportunities and approaches. We're a public interest research center and community working to explore the Internet and new digital developments.įellowships at the Center are opportunities for those who wish to spend 2018-2019 in residence in Cambridge, MA as part of the our vibrant community of research and practice, and who seek to engage in collaborative, cross-disciplinary, and cross-sectoral exploration of some of the Internet's most important and compelling issues.įellows are supported in an inviting and playful intellectual environment - we have community activities designed to foster inquiry and risk-taking, to identify and expose common threads across fellows’ individual activities, and to bring fellows into conversation with the faculty directors, employees, and broader community at the Berkman Klein Center. The Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society at Harvard University and we've just announced our open call for fellowship applications for the 2018-2019 academic year.









Berkman klein center fellows